Select Page

Insider News

Insider News

we are happy to fill you in with some insider-news after todays qualification at the second stop of the Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour in Athens, Greece.

Rider updates and the epic track

The original rider line-up changed slightly with Maikel Melero and Taka Higashino unfortunately pulling out of the event past week due to injuries, handing over the spots to Nick Franklin (NZL) and Christian Meyer (ESP). Twelve of the best riders in the world, including seven former Red Bull X-Fighters event winners, battled out the start order for tomorrows main event in todays qualification. The biggest course within the Red Bull X-Fighters World Tour 2015 challenged the riders with plenty of jumps and options.

track building clip: https://www.facebook.com/RedBullXfighters/videos/vb.21470270055/10153345464030056/?type=2&theater

track explanation clip: http://www.redbullxfighters.com/en_GR/video/astounding-greek-track-explained.

Qualification results and report

1. Josh Sheehan (AUS), 86.20

2. Clinton Moore (AUS), 85.70

3. Rob Adelberg (AUS), 82.90

4. David Rinaldo (FRA), 82.30

5. Dany Torres (ESP), 82.20

6. Adam Jones (USA), 82.00

7. Levi Sherwood (NZL), 81.30

8. Remi Bizouard (FRA), 79.40

9. Nick Franklin (NZL), 78.80

10. Chris Meyer (ESP), 76.90

11. Tom Pagès (FRA), 64.60

12. Javier Villegas (CHI), 50.20

Pictures at www.redbullxfightersnewsroom.com, full results at www.redbullxfighters.com/results. Check attached ZIP file for qualification pictures in web resolution.

The reigning World Tour champion Josh Sheehan came back swinging at his first appearance in the 2015 season by winning the qualification in the Dionyssos Marble Quarry over Mexico winner Clinton Moore and Rob Adelberg, a clean sweep for the Aussies! Tom Pagès tried to land his newest quarterpipe trick, the Alley-Oop Flair, twice but went down both times.

Leading up to the event in Athens Clinton Moore did not feel under pressure and said „I have shown what I am capable to in Mexico, now the others need to deliver“ and he seemed to be right after the first round of qualification: Josh Sheehan did a mistake and pulled a Dead Sailor Flip, Tom Pagès even crashed at the first jump of his run when he shot into the dark sky attempting to land the first ever Alley-Oop Flair in competition and heading out next Levi Sherwood also had a small crash when he landed a bit short after a Turntable. Clinton Moore instead showed a very good run including the Volt, Flair, a 360, huge Tsunami Flip and Dead Sailor Flip.

Nevertheless the struggling opponents fixed their bikes and minds and all went out for their second run. Sheehan came back swinging by stomping not only tricks like a huge Tsunami Flip, but also landing the first ever Double Backflip onto greece ground, which helped him to win the qualification in front of Moore. Pagès went again for the Alley-Oop Flair, crashing again, but this time he was able to continue his run. Attempting a Flair out of a vertical dirt lip he crashed for the second time in his run, a massive flatspin 360 afterwards did not help much with his score anymore. Sherwood also struggled a bit again. He finished a full run including a amazing Superman Egg Roll over the transfer quarterpipe, but messed up one of his backflips over the superkicker and only finished on 7th position, barely making it directly into the head-to-head round of fridays main event.

Like Sheehan his countryman Rob Adelberg also celebrated his return to the world tour by finishing on 3rd position after one of his signature runs with perfect executions and plenty of style, but also adding the California Roll body varial into his run and proving his critics wrong. Frenchman David Rinaldo is another rider who had his first appearance in this years season, finishing on 4th position, also including a California Roll in his run as well as a big Double Seatgrab Flip and other tricks with great extension. Dany Torres and Adam Jones also made it straight into the head-to-head round, finishing on places six and seven while Remi Bizouard, Nick Franklin, newcomer Chris Meyer, Tom Pagès and Javier Villegas will battle for the remaining spot during the first round in which only right side up tricks and one „Joker-Trick“ are allowed.

Also check http://www.redbullxfighters.com/en_GR/article/aussie-attack-greek-qualifying or www.redbullxfightersnewsroom.com for a press release and pictures.

Live Broadcast

The main event is sold out, so 10,000 spectators in the Dionyssos Marble Quarry will witness an epic battle for the win. But no worries, everybody can watch it LIVE on redbullxfighters.com, Red Bull TV and TV stations around the world.

Red Bull TV will broadcast from the Quarter Finals on starting 9:00 pm CET. Red Bull TV is available on connected TVs, gaming consoles, mobile devices and more. For a full list of supported devices visit http://about.redbull.tv/

And here is a special treat for our hard-core FMX fans: See all the runs from 1st round exclusive on redbullxfighters.com at 8:30 pm CET.

Starting Times Red Bull TV around the world:

June 12: Canada: 11:30am (PST) | Mexico: 01:30pm (CST) | Brasil: 03:30pm (BRT) | Europe: 08:30pm (CET)

June 13: Japan: 03:30am (JST) | Australia: 04:30am (AEST) | New Zealand: 06.30am (NZST)

Remember: The exclusive 1st round coverage on www.redbullxfighters.com starts half an hour earlier. 

Please note that the broadcast is geo-blocked in the USA, but will be shown exclusively on Fox Sports 1

Video on Demand: The entire competition will be available as a VoD right after the event on redbullxfighters.com and Red Bull TV. In the US right after the event was aired on Fox Sport 1.

Helpful Links

News Room: www.redbullxfightersnewsroom.com

Website: www.redbullxfighters.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/RedBullXfighters

Instagram: @redbullxfighters

Twitter: @xfighters

#XFIGHTERS

About The Author

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *